Classes are growing and adapting continues

I get a lot of nice feedbacks from parents and students and I feel so thankful for everyone being so open! When you wake to an email from a mom telling you that her daughter ask if it is ballet today- everyday, or another one telling her family she wants to be as good dancer as teacher Rebecca and also want to teach dance when she grows up, really makes my heart melt… I also overheard a boy shouting out in the corridor last week: I never thought dance could this much fun!

The principal of one of the kindergartens I teach went to a creative movement class of mine and wanted to change all the kinds of exercising activities to just this, with all the classes, all the ages. My schedule and the company’s approval to this didn’t fully work out but it’s nice to know for future seasons!

 No classes are in the risk zone because of few student. More and more are full so I need to put children on waiting list.

Last week I started teaching Jazz for middle school students, hip hop for teenagers and a private Jazz class and after the October break hopefully another 2 courses will start. That is why I haven’t written for a while since there are a lot preparation and creating of choreographies that occupies my time as well as also giving myself breath and just be…

 I bought a 4 months card at the dance studio I was talking about in an earlier post so I have been taking a couple of modern technique and modern dance classes there and I really enjoy it.

I got my passport back yesterday by the way. I was wondering if there was any problems with arranging the working visa but some things just takes time I guess… I could not get a full one though, because I don’t have 2 years’ experience within the company. My visa now is for 1 year, but I need to leave the country every 90 days. So next week I will fly to Hong Kong, which and I am excited travel again.

Last weeks the temperature has dropped to a perfect warmth around 25 degrees. When I landed it was so hot to move put know it is a joy, so I recommend people next year to visit in September.

Even though the smog is here sometimes you can see a bit a blue sky or a pink coloured evening.

 

Little interesting things to adapt to:

The personal at big supermarkets are  screaming out advertisement.
The stand next to you in the cooler when you looking for natural yoghurt without sugar (which is a pretty hard to find because plain yoghurt just means no taste of fruit but it still a lot of sugar…), and talk to you very load in their microphones the deals for today, on repeat. I usually don’t get headaches but this does haha.

Security checks at the metro. You know when you are at the airport and start the journey toward your gate, you need to do this security control. You have this in a lot of places here, as for example entering the metro station. So I drop my bag on the belt several times every day.

To save money for gas, cars will not stop for you when you stand at a zebra crossing. If you want to get to the other side just do it and hope for the best…

Language

Some parents let their kids joins sport for life to combine dancing and learn English at the same time. I have heard that as a child you have the ability to learn new languages faster and, I really see this in my classes with Chinese speaking children. I also remember this from my own childhood when my father got a job in Germany. We moved there when I was 5 and I was immediately put in kindergarten without the local language as a skill. I did not take long, about a month or so, and I knew German. I have lived in shanghai for about a month now and it would have been nice to be able to understand some of this native language. My vocabulary exist of approximately 20 words  so there is room for improvement so to speak…

I am pretty good with taxi driving conversation and some shopping phrases. But I still not know good bye so when I am leaving someone and want to wish them a nice day there is this awkward pause, and I than I just wave my hand and smile haha.

And I have an ambition to make a wordlist on Chinese words that I can use in class on work my way from there rather than registering for a Chinese course at this moment.

 

Kommentera här: