Busy november

Performances is coming up..

So I have been a bit busy lately… and I feel guilty about not writing here for a while. Since shanghai is pretty big geographically we will have to performances. One in Puxi (around the area where I live) and in Pudong on the otherside of the Bund (where I have most of my classes).

I have most responsibility for the Pudong performance and have chosen a Jungle theme this season and also choreographed a finally dance called Jungle drum, that all kids above 7 years have learned. This week all 3 full time dance teachers met up in our apartement to also make 6x8 the we will do on stage since parents earlier have asked why the teachers never show any of their skills. Nothing complicated though but it was fun and will probably be good on stage.

My hip hop teens learned this yesterday and they send me emails that they are practicing at home which makes me so happy. To get children that has never danced before and then realize they love it is amazing!

Costumes

It takes more time than you think to look on the internet for costumes for 11 different dance groups. And you order samples that maybe then goes out in stock in sizes so you need to look for new ones.. You bring to class and some is always disappointed or not there for fitting.. Is a bit of a stress but it is important for most of the children (and their PARENTS) to look good on stage.

But the ballet 3+ that I made a frogdance for I think will look adorable haha!


Hotel stays

I have spent a couple of night at luxury hotels lately. It has been a blessing with this getaways and I am soooo grateful for my dad’s loyalty to the SPG program. By collecting stays for him he is now a platinum preferred guest so it has been a win win situation. 
Since I almost everytime get upgraded to executive suites I get access to the club lounge with buffe dinner and breakfast so I have really treated myself with delicious treats and a lot of extra energy saved for classes.

And because I had late checkouts I could go back to the hotel between classes and do admin work from there instead of cafés! 

Chinese lessons

Nowadays at the office on Friday I have mandarin lesson together with some colleges. It is good that we immediately can try out in real life what we learn in class. It is difficult because the tone and pronunciation is so important.

 

Coach development

Since a couple of weeks ago I also attend a coach development course, also at the office on Fridays. Here we go through some repetition of what I learned in school about teaching but also discuss things there are happening in our classes at the moment and refer to the theory on what might work to adjust. What is good with this course is that we all teach different sports and you learn what is different or the same in different departments’ of the company. I might be inspired by something the football coaches does for warmup, how swimmers use there metaphors or how basketball focus on their group dynamic. Soon we will go out and observe each other’s classes and I am really looking forward to that. 


Kommentera här: