Winter has come

Doing outside events, we need to dress properly with a lot of layers.

I had to buy a heater from a second hand store a while ago and it is almost working. The best buy to keep warm is the Heating blanket though...

And you need to drink a lot of warm water and never be barefoot because the floors are freezing. One time there was even smoke coming from my breath as I woke up (before equipment arrived). I put out on the bed what I will wear the next day and dress myself underneath the blankets haha. And eat breakfast in my outdoor clothes and robe over it, Michelin-style.

The AQI that measures air quality has also been very bad lately so sometimes I use a mask when I am outside and the cuff actually stops even if it is nor pretty or comfortable.

A couple of weeks ago I had street food after I’d been to ZY dance studio (because I did not have time for dinner before the late classes) and it only took 4h before I was puking like a cow. The whole night and until midday. I had to call my boss early in the morning but there was no part time teacher available to cover the 7 classes I had that day. And it was the week before the dance shows and I felt so sorry for the kids that needed to practice their choreography! 

I got pretty dehydrated but luckily no hospital visit this time. You feel so helpless when you are all alone and thirsty but having zero energy and you whole body is hurting and you cannot move from one side to the other in bed. This was the first 18h but then I manage to get to the fridge and found some cranberry juice that I tried to sip on a couple of hours. 
During the evening my friend Joe came with oatmeal and coke and I was so grateful! 
The following day in the evening I only had one hour class with older children so I manage to get there and just assist their dance show practice. It took a couple of days to get back in an ok condition but I was just happy it was food poisoning and not stomach flu which in my case usually is pretty extreme.

I did not take long though before I got a nasty cold and after a short week break it has now returned again. I haven’t missed any days of work but I have been feeling awful. One day my battery died during the night and the alarm didn’t go off. I woke up with a massive headache and it turned out I had slept for 15h (which I can only do when I have infection in the system). Because I have been so exhausted and had pain in my whole body I have taken every time I could get this last week to put in sleeps as oft as possible. But I am still going home on Christmas break now sick and not so jolly.

Because I am used to great living condition and eating healthy with a lot of organic food I guess my body has not the immune system that is required in Shanghai in winter. Hopefully it will improve because I really don’t care much of this time of feeling poorly...

 
Taking a walk in my neighbourhood. The trees with red leaves, I really like. And how people think bike is the best transportation option if you have a lot of stuff..
 
 
Coming up: Do you get a christmas spirit in shanghai and did the dance shows turn out?

Kommentera här: